The Report of the Audit Committee

Your Committee met on 22 April, 2010. Present:- County Councillor Roger Harrison-Topham in the Chair. County Councillors Karl Arthur, Andrew Backhouse, Keith Barnes, John Clark and Chris Pearson. Mr James Daglish (Independent Member) also attended the meeting but declared a personal and prejudicial interest and left the room during consideration of the matter set out below.

Also in attendance: County Councillors Jim Clark and Carl Les.

1. Audit Committee Membership – Appointment of Independent Members: The County Council, on 16 December 2009, agreed to re-establish seats on the Audit Committee for three Independent Members, one of which would be for a Member of the Standards Committee, preferably the Chairman, but not a County Councillor, with the remaining two seats being filled following advertisement, short-listing and interview, all appointments to be for the remaining life of the County Council plus up to a further 12 months.

Subsequently, recruitment and selection processes, approved by the Audit Committee, have been undertaken. Interviews for the two advertised seats have been conducted by a Panel comprising the Committee's Chairman and County Councillors Karl Arthur and Patrick Mulligan.

The Committee, on 22 April 2010, was advised that Mr Henry Cronin (Independent Member of the Standards Committee appointed to serve until 16 December 2012) had expressed an interest in being appointed to the Audit Committee.

The Committee was also advised of the names and relevant experience of the two candidates who the Panel had decided to recommend for appointment to the remaining seats.

The Audit Committee RECOMMENDS:

- (a) That Mr Henry Cronin be appointed to the Audit Committee as the Independent Member representative from the Standards Committee, to serve for the remaining life of the County Council plus up to a further 12 months, subject to him continuing as an Independent Member of the Standards Committee.
- (b) That Mr James Daglish and Mr David Portlock be appointed to the Audit Committee, to serve for the remaining life of the County Council plus up to a further 12 months.

ROGER HARRISON-TOPHAM Chairman

County Hall NORTHALLERTON

22 April 2010